Firm Awards 2020 Judge Barefoot Sanders Law Magnet Scholarships

This year, Lynn Pinker Hurst & Schwegmann granted the 2020 Judge Barefoot Sanders Law Magnet Scholarship to two high school seniors, Cheyanne Harding and Ahtziry Tinajero. The Judge Barefoot Sanders Law Magnet was established in 1978 with a mission to prepare students for careers in law, government and law enforcement. Recipients must plan to enroll in full-time undergraduate study at a four-year college or university for the upcoming academic year, have a minimum grade point average of 3.3, and demonstrate outstanding leadership potential and an intent to pursue a career in the legal field. 

“We are proud to celebrate the outstanding accomplishments of these students and wish them well as they pursue their legal careers,” said partner, Alan Dabdoub

The Judge Barefoot Sanders Law Magnet is ranked 20th within Texas and 165th nationally in the U.S. News Best High Schools rankings. The school has also received the Texas Education Agency’s “Exemplary” rating for four consecutive years and was nominated as a High Performing National Blue Ribbon School by the U.S. Department of Education. 

Barefoot Sanders is a legendary figure in the history of Dallas education, having presided over the Tasby v. Estes case, which resulted in the successful desegregation of Dallas schools. Judge Sanders implemented a fair and practical desegregation plan that won the approval of the Fifth Circuit Court of Appeals and, finally, the school board of the Dallas Independent School District. While overseeing the desegregation process, Judge Sanders also shepherded the development of Dallas’ various magnet schools, which he hoped would provide a viable alternative to busing. Today, the Law Magnet honors Judge Sanders’ intentions and is a model of an inclusive school, where all students—regardless of background—are given an opportunity to flourish and succeed. 

The scholarship will be administered by the Judge Barefoot Sanders Law Magnet. Lynn Pinker Hurst & Schwegmann awards are granted without regard to race, color, creed, religion, sexual orientation, age, gender, disability, or national origin, and scholarships will be awarded for full-time study at an accredited institution of the students’ choice.